The Liebster Award

Whenever I look at “Liebster”, I think of the German noun liebe (“love”). I have no idea if they’re actually related! Anyways, this is the first time little ole me has ever been nominated for anything. Many thanks to Alex for thinking of me and my parakeet drawings. 😀 Her mailart is top-notch, just like her taste in booze. ❤ ;D

First, a quick run-down of the rules and then onto the questions! Soon I’ll be adding a follow-up post with my own nominees and questions. 😀 The blog-o-sphere is a truly wonderful place, ain’t it?

The Rules

  1. Mention the person who nominated you on your own blog and link them.
  2. Answer the 11 questions chosen by the person who nominated you
  3. Nominate 5 to 11 more blogs you like who have less than 200 followers
  4. Create your 11 questions
  5. Let your nominees know!

 Questions by Alex

1) Why did you start blogging?
To be honest, I don’t have really any friends, and I spend a lot of my time alone. Blogging is a nice way to share my work with others, interact with folk and be generally inspired. Also there was a point at which a lot of my peers “got real jobs”, and I’m still stuck on the idea that I’ll make a living on my creations. Blogging is a bit like a portfolio, and it’s also like a journal. Argh, I just love it, hahaha.

2) Which book had been the most influential in your life?
Unfortunately, I used to read a lot of homoerotic murder fiction, and Exquisite Corpse by Poppy Z. Brite had much influence over my writing as a young teenager. Some of my stylistic undertones can still be roughly traced to Brite, and I used to love the subject matter of her books: goth-ass gay kids with sullen faces and psychological problems, hohoho. Now I write slipstream about lesbians against the backdrop of a cultish murder and a ruined society. AHEM, anyways– Equally important was Gravity by Tess Gerritsen which contributed to my intense love for science of all kinds. ❤

3) What’s the most interesting thing that happened to you this last month?
Uhm, well, in March I got a bunch of notebooks! Yeah, I’m a hermit. Also I discovered the printer I’ll be acquiring next, and it’ll be able to handle the monarch zine as well as some specialty projects I’d otherwise be forced to go to a printing company for. PRINTSSSSSSSS. ZINESSSSSS.

4) Which is your favourite mythical creature?
I really like chimeras because they seem to hearken to genetic tomfoolery. Also Gravity by Tess Gerritsen involves a chimera of sorts. Valkyries are also pretty sweet. Anything Nordic is probably badass, like the “letting of the blood eagle” torture-execution method used by Vikings.

5) What’s your dream travel destination and why?
I’ve always wanted to visit Japan. The culture and language of Japan have been part of my life since I can remember, and I have more Japanese music on my hard drive and in my life than any other nation’s. I also dream of New Zealand. ❤

6) Best movie to watch as Spring descends upon us?
Oh goodness, Twister! It’s motherfucking tornado season, guys!

7) Dream career when you were six?
I wanted to be an “aeronautical engineer”, to sit in the control room at NASA and be a part of flight command.

8) Biggest adventure you’ve ever gone on?
When I was 19, I up and left my home state and everyone I ever knew to go live in California with a guy I’d known for a year (James). Obviously, I’m a decent judge of character and wasn’t murdered–that’s a plus. I ended up bringing him back to Louisiana with me three-ish years later! And here I am at 24 with no fucking idea what to do with my life still. -_- Life is probably my biggest adventure now that I think about it.

9) Fictional world you’d like to move to?
Almost every anime I’ve ever liked, bahahahahah.

10) Hobby that’s currently taking up the most of your time?
I spend most of my time fucking around with notebooks for whatever reason. *_*

11) Best recipe for a Sunday brunch dish?
I have a great recipe for breaded tilapia! The breading is five-star: use it on anything! You’ll need however many thin fillets of fish as you’d like, a bowl of your favorite breadcrumbs seasoned just how you like (I enjoy some lemon pepper in there too) and a bowl of flour and a bowl of milk. Just cover the fish in the flour, then cover in the milk, then cover in the breadcrumbs. Make sure you get every cranny with all layers and smash the breadcrumbs down a bit to ensure adhesion. Repeat this process once more for a double layer of breading and then fry in a thin layer of oil (you won’t regret using coconut oil). ❤

One thought on “The Liebster Award

  1. Pingback: Liebster Nominees | A Problem of Sobriquets

Reply

