Handmade Journal

This extremely photo-heavy post features a handmade gift for my dear penpal Hannah whose birthday is on the 13th. ❤ I originally bought a shitty journal from Michael’s: it was hard to pass it up for a buck. Regardless, the paper inside wasn’t worth even a buck, so I ripped it all out and stashed the cover, waiting for inspiration to strike–and it did!

handmade journal

Many of the pages hang out the side, some are too small and some are too large. Call me silly, but I love the disheveled look that seems to scream “handmade by some hippy girl” when you pick it up. ❤ I picked all kinds of pretty papers and cut them a haphazardly. Most sheets have blank backs, so the decorated pages are evenly spaced with solid colors.

cover and page detail

The inside cover looks a little more–ahem–handmade than I’d like it to, but being my first hardback book, it isn’t terribly shabby. I used this tutorial by Sea Lemon to stitch together a sturdy text block. Glue, paper and question marks later and the thing was attached to the cover.

inside cover

random pages

There’s glittery paper, that awesome map paper, sturdier cardstock-type paper and pages from vintage 1970s garden books. Some of the edges are scalloped, and I was hoping that’d make the overhanging pages look more intentional and designed rather than sloppy. I adore that glittery page pictured above and had to leave a piece of it hanging out. ❤

map page detail

garden pages detail

page detail 2

back cover with pocket

And what notebook of any kind would be complete without a pocket? None, I say! Well, except my Strathmore journals– XD Anyways, I’m thrilled to make another notebook and to gift it to such a lovely lady.

7 thoughts on “Handmade Journal

  1. Oh God !!! Vraiment génial !!! J’aime particulièrement la page avec le design noir et le mot “Annuel” !!! C’est très Art Déco !! Hehehe !!! J’aime tout le journal anyway !!! J’espère que la “lovely lady” qui va recevoir cette merveille va mesurer la chance qu’elle a !!! Lol

  2. I did this recently with a journal from Target. Only I punched holes in the spine and put in two metal hoop clasps, so I can insert pages as I go finding them. Michaels has gotten some good stuff recently, so I plan to grab some next time I work.

    • I’ve thought about adding those standalone rings to a random cover, but I think that planners are the only place I can stand for rings. It makes me feel like a purist. 😦 And there’s something about sewing the pages too that makes it feel like a manufactured book. SO FLY. XD

      You must post photos of the cover you altered! What kind of good stuff?!

Reply

